Our next #NBRARuleSchool series will show 2 plays: a loose ball foul and a lob play. On these plays, if the illegal act occurs BEFORE the ball gets to the offensive players hand on the scoring attempt, you cannot score the basket.

New York Knicks @ Dallas Mavericks | April 16, 2021 | Loose Ball Foul

Here we see illegal contact occur when RJ grabs Kristaps’ bicep as he is about to jump, BEFORE the ball gets to Porzingis’ hand. We can’t score a basket if the ball is not in the hand of the offensive player before or simultaneous with illegal contact.

See Rule

Sacramento Kings @ Dallas Mavericks | April 18, 2021 | Lob Play

Here we see illegal contact by Redick, shoving Metu well BEFORE he gets to the ball. Although the whistle is slightly delayed and is blown at the same time as the ball gets to Metu’s hand, the illegal activity occurs well before, thus the basket cannot count.

See Rule