This play was correctly judged a blocking foul. The defender must be in legal position at the START of the upward shooting motion. The baseline replay shows that after Cameron plants and begins his upward movement, PJ is still sliding left to take charge.

This was a very close play, but ultimately it was decided PJ’s lateral sliding movement exceeds what would be deemed a “firm up,” which would be allowable movement from a defender who already got his body in the direct path of the offensive player to better absorb contact.

Phoenix Suns @ Milwaukee Bucks | July 7, 2021 | Blocking Foul


A defensive player is not permitted to move into the path of an offensive player once he has started his upward motion to attempt a field goal or pass.

See Rule